Lemon-Blueberry Cheesecake Oats

On weekdays I roll out of bed at 6:10 and am showing my face to the beautiful world by 6:30. The last thing I need is a growling stomach and no easy AND nourishing breakfast options in sight. Fast fix: I got some wide-mouth pint jars with plastic lids (complements of my mama) and since then have been faithfully prepping breakfast jars each weekend for the coming work week. Now all I have to do is grab a jar and a spoon and DONE breakfast is ready for me to eat as soon as I plop my rear at my desk.

Well… this weekend I was in the mood for something lemony so I came up with a recipe for Lemon-Blueberry Cheesecake Oatmeal. I posted a blurb on social media about this week’s breakfast jars and I got some really great interest in the recipe so I thought I would share it here for you all to try. And, seriously, give me feedback! I make food constantly and am always on the lookout for ways to improve my culinary inspirations!

Peace, Love, and Oatmeal,

Therine

P.S. I have no food photography skills.

 

Lemon-Blueberry Cheesecake Oatmeal

Easy, filling, plant-strong breakfast

Cooked Version (aka this-is-not-super-fast):

This cooked version of the oatmeal is creamy and rich. The lemon in this version is a bit muted because it is added to the oatmeal while still warm.

(Makes five Therine-sized servings)

1 1/2 cups steel-cut oats*

1 can full fat coconut milk (I like the one from Trader Joe’s best)

3 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Juice from one large lemon (about 1/4 cup or so)

Zest from one large lemon

1/4 teaspoon salt (or to taste)

Ideas for the “crust” on the bottom of the jars:

  • Pecans
  • Cashews (I like the salted ones)
  • Coconut shreds

Heat the milks to a low boil. Add oats. Reduce heat to a high simmer stirring frequently. Simmer uncovered for 25-30 minutes until oats are tender and porridge is thick. Remove from heat and stir in maple, vanilla, lemon ingredients, and salt. Let cool while you line your jars with nuts or coconut. Divide oats evenly among five pint jars. Top off the jars with fresh or frozen blueberries. Store in the fridge until ready to eat!

*I have NOT tried this particular recipe with rolled oats, but I can assume that if you followed the oats to liquid ratio on the oatmeal container that the recipe would turn out totes perfection!

 

Overnight version (aka this-is-super-fast):

This uncooked version of the oatmeal is also creamy and rich but with a perkier zing from the fresh lemon and zest.

(Makes 4 Therine-sized servings)

2 cups rolled oats

1 can full fat coconut milk

2 1/2 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2-3 tablespoons of chia seeds

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Juice from one large lemon (about 1/4 cup or so)

Zest from one large lemon

1/4 teaspoon salt (or to taste)

Ideas for the “crust” on the bottom of the jars:

  • Pecans
  • Cashews
  • Coconut shreds

Pour your coconut milk into a bowl and soften it in the microwave. You want it warm enough that you can whisk it smooth. Add all other ingredients and whisk well. Line 4 pint jars with nuts or coconut. Divide oats evenly among the jars. Top with fresh or frozen blueberries. Store in the fridge until ready to eat!

Enjoy it, Loves!

One thought on “Lemon-Blueberry Cheesecake Oats

Leave a Reply

