Spiced Millet Porridge with Skillet Apples and Walnuts

I love breakfast, but when it comes to workday mornings I want to break that fast FAST. I prep breakfast jars over the weekend for just such grab-n-go situations. This spiced millet is by far my favorite of all of my breakfast jars. The millet, apples, and walnuts have a little party in my mouth!

Millet is one of those grains that I don’t hear much about, but it’s a star in my book. It performs well in both sweet and savory situations and is packed with much-needed vitamins and minerals. It also helps me take a little break from my oatmeal obsession. What can I say? I love oatmeal a little too much…

img_4624

Spiced Millet with Skillet Apples and Walnuts

Plant-based, gluten-free breakfast

The flavors in this are best when served warm, but I frequently eat it cold and it’s still delish!

For the apples:

4 apples peeled, cored, and cut to the desired size*

2 tablespoons of your choice of sweetener (I use maple or raw sugar)

2 teaspoons cinnamon (or apple pie spice)

 

For the millet:

1 1/2 cups of uncooked millet

1 can of coconut milk (full-fat is my preference)

2 1/2-3 cups of unsweetened almond milk*

1 small can of pumpkin

2 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon ground ginger

3/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup maple syrup or to taste

 

Heat a large, heavy bottomed dutch oven (or similarly sized pot) over medium heat. Add apples, sweetener, and spice. Stir well and cook until tender crisp – stirring frequently so that they don’t stick. I like mine to cook down enough to make a cinnamony syrup, but still have some crunch to them. Divide the apples among 5 jars (or bowls).

Add all the remaining ingredients except the maple syrup to the now empty dutch oven and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a high simmer and cook for 30 minutes stirring frequently (it likes to stick!). Remove from heat and stir in maple syrup to taste. Pour porridge evenly over the skillet apples, top with walnuts, and serve.

OR

Allow jars to cool without lids. Top with walnuts, screw on the lids, and refrigerate until ready to eat!

 

*Notes: I use one of those peeling and coring machines that suctions to the counter. Then all I have to do is chop the apples to a desired size and they’re ready! Some other options are to chop them in a food processor or grate them. The possibilities are endless and it all just depends on your preferences with texture!

I prefer to have a thicker porridge that leaves the millet slightly chewy. This is a personal preference, but I recommend that you try it! You can always add the additional 1/2 cup of milk and keep simmering it if you want the millet softer.

 

Feedback is always welcome!

Happy millet making! And eating!

XO

Therine

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

