Fear in High Heels.

A creativity expert* once wrote:

“I think perfectionism is just a high-end, haute couture version of fear. I think perfectionism is just fear in fancy shoes and a mink coat, pretending to be elegant when actually it’s just terrified.”

Well said, dear, well said.

They don’t call me “Type A” for nothin’.

I mean, why fail at something when you can simply sweat, stress, scrutinize and pull your hair out until something is PERFECT. Right?

For as long as I can remember “perfect” has been one of my favorite words. Failing is bad. Success is good. Mistakes are bad. Pats on the back are good.

For years I have wanted to write for a blog. Not because I am some gift of a writer or the NBT, but because I like to write and I want to improve. But then there’s that little voice that starts speaking to me…

You can’t write.

People will think you’re stupid.

Do you think you’re something special?

Someone else is already writing material like that.

What makes you think your writing belongs on the WEB?

Keep that pathetic writing in a notebook, you newb!

My mind…what a kind, gentle shrew she is.

But still I took the plunge. I created the blog, wrote one post, and then doubted my decision… for a year. What a shame! It was then and there that I decided that done > good. No longer will I be one of those with great ideas that are never birthed because fancy schmancy fear tells me not to. I say all that to say that I don’t fuss over writing, editing, and posting my blog posts anymore because I want to WRITE not talk about writing, not think about writing, but simply writing. Putting it down on paper (screen) and letting it free. So, if you find typos, poor sentence structure, or grammar slips — embrace them. Love them! Because it means I’m actually doing something this time.

 

I’m with Elizabeth. I don’t want my work perfect; I just want mine finished.

 

XO

Therine

*Elizabeth Gilbert, Big Magic. Read it.

Leave a Reply

